Charging and energy

The issues of charging and energy lie at the heart of electric mobility. The more easily the battery of an electric vehicle can be supplied with energy, and the more public and private charging stations are available, the faster the switch will be.

Charging and energy

We Charge

With We Charge, Volkswagen offers a system for a relaxed approach to charging electric vehicles of the brand – at home with the networked wall box and on the road at over 200 000 public charging points in Europe. Over 500 DC fast charging points with Combined Charging System (CCS) connectors and more than 6000 AC charging points can be accessed easily in Switzerland using the app and integrated map.

We Charge

e-tron Charging Service

One contract, one card, one access. The e-tron Charging Service from Audi is that simple, allowing the vehicle to be charged at almost 240 000 charging stations in 25 European countries. Whether in a city centre or on the motorway, the e-tron Charging Service provides fast and convenient access to charging stations everywhere. The network of high-power charging stations for use while out and about is continuously being expanded, and stations in other European countries can be used for local prices with no additional charges.

e-tron Charging Service

ŠKODA Powerpass

The Powerpass card enables access to most public charging providers for ŠKODA drivers, allowing them to charge their vehicles almost everywhere. In addition, all charging data and payments are also displayed conveniently in a single app. The Powerpass has been available since the launch of the first ENYAQ iV, and also enables access to the IONITY fast charging network. Powerpass is provided by Elli, part of Volkswagen Group Charging GmbH.

ŠKODA Powerpass

IONITY

In order to make electric mobility convenient for long-distance journeys and thus suitable for large-scale use, IONITY, a company co-founded by Volkswagen, is building up a network of fast, or high-power charging stations (HPCs) in Europe. It offers charging capacity of up to 350 kW. Around 350 stations are already available throughout Europe, each with between two and 12 charging points, the majority of which are located at motorway service areas. The current goal is to reach a figure of 400 charging stations provided using electricity from 100% renewable sources. A break of normal length at the service area is more or less enough time for a vehicle battery to be recharged.

With this undertaking, Volkswagen is pursuing the same goal as the other providers – to facilitate straightforward charging anytime and anywhere. Soon, drivers of electric vehicles will no longer need to think about the reachability of the next charging station or the range of their vehicle. Volkswagen is making electric cars suitable for a variety of everyday uses, bringing electric mobility out of its niche and making it the mass technology of the future.

Audi e-tron: the next level of electric mobility

With the Audi e-tron, Audi is presenting its first purely electrically powered production model. With this, the brand with the four rings marks the start of the electrification offensive: By 2025, Audi will be offering twelve automobiles with all-electric drives in the most important markets around the world.

Elli

Elli, short for “electric life”, aims to make life with electricity simple, reliable and completely worry-free – out and about, at home and in power generation. The approach places a particular focus on intelligent solutions, practicability, safety and the environment. Elli is part of the Volkswagen Group and develops solutions for both private individuals and companies at the diverse interfaces of electric mobility and the energy transition

Elli Product Portfolio

Charging types

While the wide range of connector types may appear confusing at first glance, a closer look soon reveals that there are simply different systems for at home and on the move. Those charging at home, regardless of how they do so, must have a residual-current device that has been installed by an expert.

For at home:

For thermal reasons, household sockets (Type 13) are not suitable for continuous operation over several hours and with high currents. Regular charging of electric car batteries using a household socket is therefore not recommended. In addition, a fire may occur. If a household socket is used as an exception for charging, a mobile charger is needed to regulate the energy between the socket and the battery. The process will be extremely long, however, as a maximum of 1.3 kW will be used.

CEE industrial sockets can be subjected to higher thermal and mechanical loads, and three-phase charging with up to 11 kW is possible with the red CEE socket.

The easiest way to charge is to use a wall charging station, also known as a wall box or home charging device. It is fitted with charging electronics and a directly connected cable with a Type 2 plug, the European standard. No additional cables or chargers are needed, and the charging capacity of a wall box is 11 or 22 kW. If the wall box is part of a charging management system in an underground car park with several wall boxes, the charging capacity may also temporarily be lower.

For on the move:

CHAdeMO was established in Japan in 2010, making it the oldest fast charging standard. It still has the largest coverage worldwide today. Most stations have a charging capacity of 50 kW, but some are also available with 150 kW, and there are plans to increase capacity up to 350 kW. In Europe, however, CHAdeMO is being used less and less as EU manufacturers have agreed to focus on the Combined Charging System (CCS).

The Combined Charging System is the preferred choice of American and European car manufacturers, and it is the most common system in Switzerland. While the fast-charging system initially had a capacity of 50 kW, today it is often 150 kW in Switzerland, and here, too, an increase up to 350 kW is planned. The name “Combined Charging” comes from the fact that the system allows for both DC and AC charging. There is a Type 2 plug for alternating current, and two separate poles called Combo 2 for direct current. Only one plug is needed in order to receive electricity.

In Switzerland and the rest of Europe, the three-phase Type 2 plug for charging with alternating current is the most common. This is a standard connection on the vehicle for normal charging with 230/400 V alternating current, and usually provides a maximum charging capacity of 11, 22 or 43 kW. In contrast to other fast charging standards, Type 2 charging stations supply alternating current (AC) and not direct current (DC). This means that the current does not flow directly into the battery, but first needs to be converted into direct current by the vehicle’s charger. This process takes a different amount of time depending on the charger.

Charging capacity and charging time

Most stations charge with 22 to 42 kilowatts. Fast charging stations offer 50 to 150 kilowatts, which means a range increase of 250 to 750 kilometres per charging hour.

The charging time for electric cars depends primarily on four factors:
•    Battery level
•    The charging capacity of the charging station
•    The car’s charging technology
•    Battery capacity

Charging time can basically be calculated using this formula:
Charging time = battery capacity in kWh / charging capacity (kW)

Ionity

Wallbox

Wall boxes were developed specifically for charging electric vehicles and are unquestionably the ideal infrastructure for charging at home. They charge batteries quickly and efficiently, and have significantly higher capacity than an ordinary household socket (Type 13). In addition, charging times are noticeably shorter with a wall charging station. And a timer can be used to determine when the battery should be charged, in order to benefit from the cheaper night-time rate for electricity. Those with a house can also install solar panels on the roof and produce some of the electricity themselves.

Calculation of charging infrastructure
A wall box can be purchased or rented. The costs, including installation by a specialist, depend on a range of factors – the more powerful the system, the more expensive its acquisition. Having to lay metres and metres of cables makes it more expensive still.

This page can be used to calculate how much a charging infrastructure with wall box will cost:

https://em.offerten-rechner.ch (only German, French and Italian)

Elli

Load management

Load management is advisable when several electric cars are to be charged at the same time in the underground car park of an apartment building, office building or shopping centre. This calls for dynamic load management that ensures that the electric vehicles are not all charged at the same time, to prevent the power grid from being overloaded. Load management also takes into account the amount of electricity needed by the building for other purposes. A special billing system enables each charging process to be assigned to an individual electricity consumer and billed accordingly.

Ionity

Inductive charging

Inductive charging is the wireless transfer of energy, as sometimes used for mobile phones and electric toothbrushes. Many cars allow smartphones to be charged in this way. The battery of an electric vehicle can also be charged using induction, using electromagnetic fields based on the same principle as an induction cooker. A stationary coil embedded in the floor builds up a magnetic field to another coil mounted below the vehicle, and electricity flows into the battery of the electric car in this way. Inductive charging fields can be installed at home, in car parks, at outdoor parking spaces and on the road near traffic lights.

This sounds impressively simple, and it works, but is not yet very widespread. The fact that charging plates need to be embedded in the ground makes this charging infrastructure very expensive to install. Uniform standards also still need to be formulated, and inductive charging takes more time and wastes a certain amount of energy.

Effective application is already under way in Braunschweig, Germany, for example, where electric public buses are fully charged using inductive fast charging with 200 kW at the terminus stop while the driver takes a break. Cologne and Oslo also have electric taxis that employ the same principle.

Ionity

Mobile charging robot

Volkswagen Group Components has developed a prototype of a mobile charging robot, one of the visionary concepts aimed at expanding the charging infrastructure in the coming years. The robot’s function is to enable the fully autonomous charging of vehicles in confined parking spaces such as underground car parks. “A charging infrastructure that is available everywhere is and will always be a key success factor in electric mobility. Our charging robot is just one of several approaches, but certainly one of the most visionary,” says Thomas Schmall, CEO of Volkswagen Group Components.
The charging robot can be started via app or vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communication and is completely autonomous. It controls and communicates with the vehicle to be charged independently. The robot opens the charging flap and connects and disconnects the plug, with no human involvement required throughout the entire process. In order to charge several vehicles at the same time, the mobile robot is accompanied by a trailer as a mobile energy storage unit which it connects and uses to charge the vehicle’s battery. The energy storage remains with the car during the charging process, while the robot proceeds with the charging of other vehicles. Once the process is complete, the robot collects the mobile energy storage unit and returns it to the central charging station.

This is how the mobile charging robot works:

Volkswagens Mobile Charging Robot 1
Volkswagens Mobile Charging Robot 2

Ionity

On-street parking

Owners of electric vehicles will ideally be able to charge their batteries at home or at work, and need to be well organised if neither of these options is available to them. This applies in particular to those who live in a building without a garage and park their car on the street. The charging situation is currently not very convenient for on-street parking. Progress is being made in this regard, however, and in the future, drivers will increasingly be able to charge their electric vehicles on the street outside their home. On the Charging Network Switzerland platform, which is funded by SwissEnergy and the E-Mobility association, municipalities and cities can find support for improving the charging infrastructure at communal level. A brochure with measures and tips is also available, including the integration of charging stations for electric vehicles in lampposts along the street. Pilot tests are under way in Bern and Schlieren (canton of Zurich), where lampposts have been converted into charging stations in blue zones. A further pilot project with charging infrastructure in the blue zone is also in process in Basel.

Ionity

More topics

Recharge et énergie

Les thèmes recharge et énergie sont les points clés de la mobilité électrique.

Recharge et énergie

We Charge

Avec «We Charge», Volkswagen offre un système permettant de recharger facilement les véhicules électriques de la marque: à domicile au moyen de la Wallbox connectée et en déplacement aux plus de 200 000 points de recharge publics en Europe. En Suisse, plus de 500 points de recharge rapide CC dotés de prises CCS (Combined Charging System) et plus de 6000 points de recharge CA sont accessibles: avec l’application et la carte intégrée, rien n’est plus facile.

We Charge

e-tron Charging Service

Un contrat, une carte, un accès. L’e-tron Charging Service d’Audi est aussi simple que cela. Il permet d’alimenter le véhicule en électricité à presque 240 000 stations de recharge réparties dans 25 pays européens. Que ce soit en centre-ville ou sur l’autoroute: avec l’e-tron Charging Service, on dispose partout d’un accès rapide et convivial aux stations de recharge. Le réseau de stations High Power Charging qui permet de recharger le véhicule lors de déplacements, est développé en permanence. Dans les pays européens étrangers, il est possible de faire le plein d’énergie aux prix d’acquisition locaux sans taxes supplémentaires.

e-tron Charging Service

ŠKODA Powerpass

La carte Powerpass permet aux conductrices et conducteurs ŠKODA d’accéder à la plupart des fournisseurs de recharge publics. Vous pouvez ainsi recharger votre voiture presque partout. De plus, toutes les données de recharge ainsi que les paiements sont consultables sur une application. Le Powerpass est disponible depuis le lancement du premier ENYAQ iV et permet d’accéder au réseau de recharge rapide IONITY. Le Powerpass est mis à disposition par Elli, de Volkswagen Group Charging GmbH.

ŠKODA Powerpass

Ionity

Pour rendre la mobilité électrique conviviale et donc adaptée au plus grand nombre également pour les trajets de longue distance, l’entreprise IONITY co-fondée par Volkswagen met en place un réseau de stations de recharge rapide en Europe: les «stations HPC» (High Power Charging) ainsi nommées. Elles offrent une puissance de recharge jusqu’à 350 kW. Environ 350 stations accueillant de deux à douze bornes de recharge existent déjà dans toute l’Europe, la majeure partie d’entre-elles étant situées sur les aires de repos d’autoroute. L’objectif est d’ouvrir dans un premier temps 400 stations de recharge qui fournissent du courant issu à 100% d’énergies renouvelables. Pendant que la conductrice ou le conducteur peut faire une pause d’une durée normale dans l’aire de repos, la batterie de la voiture électrique peut être alimentée en grande partie avec de la nouvelle énergie.

De par son engagement, Volkswagen poursuit le même objectif que les autres fournisseurs: permettre une recharge simple, à tout moment et partout. Bientôt, aucun utilisateur de voiture électrique ne devra plus se poser de questions sur l’accessibilité de la prochaine station de recharge ou l’autonomie de son véhicule. Volkswagen rend ainsi les voitures électriques pratiques au quotidien pour différentes utilisations, sort la mobilité électrique du marché de niche et fait d’elle la technologie de masse du futur.

Audi e-tron : le prochain niveau de mobilité électrique

Avec l'Audi e-tron, Audi présente son premier modèle de production purement électrique. Avec cela, la marque aux quatre anneaux marque le début de l'offensive d'électrification : d'ici 2025, Audi proposera douze voitures à propulsion entièrement électrique sur les marchés les plus importants du monde.

Elli

Elli qui signifie en abrégé «Electric Life», aimerait rendre la vie avec l’électricité simple, fiable et sans soucis: que ce soit lors de déplacements, á domicile et lors de la production d’électricité. Pour ce faire, une attention particulière est apportée aux solutions intelligentes, à la praticité, à la sécurité et à l’écologie. Elli est une marque du groupe Volkswagen. Elle élabore des solutions pour les personnes privées et les entreprises aux multiples interfaces de la mobilité électrique et de la transition énergétique.

Elli Product Portfolio

Types de recharge

La multitude de types de prise porte à première vue à confusion. Mais lorsqu’on y regarde de plus près, il apparaît rapidement qu’il existe en fait différents systèmes pour le domicile et les déplacements. Celui qui recharge son véhicule à domicile, peu importe comment, a obligatoirement besoin d’un disjoncteur de protection à courant de défaut qui doit être installé par un professionnel.

Pour la recharge à domicile:

Pour des raisons thermiques, les prises électriques domestiques (type 13) ne sont pas conçues pour un fonctionnement permanent de plusieurs heures avec des courants élevés. En conséquence, il n’est pas recommandé de recharger régulièrement la batterie d’une voiture électrique à une prise électrique domestique. De plus, un risque d’incendie existe. Si une recharge occasionnelle doit quand même être réalisée à une prise électrique domestique, un chargeur mobile qui régule l’énergie entre la prise et la batterie est alors requis. La procédure de recharge dure cependant très longtemps car une puissance maximale de 1,3 kW est chargée.

Les prises industrielles CEE ainsi nommées supportent une charge thermique et mécanique supérieure. La prise CEE-16 rouge permet une recharge en triphasé pouvant atteindre 11 kW.

En Suisse, on rencontre le plus souvent le Combined Charging System, que les constructeurs automobiles américains et européens privilégient. Au début, le système de recharge rapide fournissait une puissance de 50 kW. Aujourd’hui, on rencontre souvent un système de 150 kW en Suisse. Là encore, une augmentation de la puissance jusqu’à 350 kW est prévue. Le nom vient du fait que le système accepte des recharges en courant alternatif et en courant continu. Une prise de type 2 est prévue pour le courant alternatif et deux pôles de prise séparés nommés Combo 2 sont disponibles pour le courant continu. Une seule prise est requise pour prélever du courant.

Pour la recharge lors des déplacements:

CHAdeMO a été fondée en 2010 au Japon et représente ainsi le standard de recharge rapide le plus ancien. Il présente aujourd’hui encore la plus grande couverture au monde. La plupart des stations ont une puissance de recharge de 50 kW, mais il en existe également de 150 kW. L’extension prévue devrait atteindre 350 kW. Toutefois, CHAdeMO est de moins en moins utilisé en Europe car les constructeurs de l’UE se sont accordés en faveur du Combined Charging System (CCS).

Am häufigsten trifft man in der Schweiz das Combined Charging System an, das die amerikanischen und europäischen Autohersteller bevorzugen. Anfänglich leistete das Schnellladesystem 50 kW, heute sind es in der Schweiz häufig 150 kW. Auch hier ist eine Leistungssteigerung auf bis zu 350 kW vorgesehen. Der Name kommt davon, dass das System Gleich- und Wechselstromladungen zulässt. Für den Wechselstrom gibt es einen Stecker Typ 2 und für den Gleichstrom zwei separate Steckerpole namens Combo 2. Um Strom zu beziehen, braucht es nur einen Stecker.

la prise de type 2 triphasée utilisée pour la recharge en courant alternatif est la plus répandue en Suisse et dans le reste de l’Europe. Il s’agit d’une connexion standard sur le véhicule pour une recharge normale avec du courant alternatif de 230/400 V. Cette connexion fournit la plupart du temps une puissance de recharge maximale de 11, 22 ou 43 kW. Contrairement aux autres standards de recharge rapide, les bornes de recharge de type 2 fournissent du courant alternatif (CA) mais pas de courant continu (CC). Cela signifie que le courant n’alimente pas directement la batterie mais qu’il doit tout d’abord être converti en courant continu par le chargeur du véhicule. L’opération dure plus ou moins longtemps en fonction du chargeur utilisé.

Puissance de recharge et temps de recharge

La plupart des stations délivrent de 22 à 42 kW. Les stations de recharge rapide rechargent avec une puissance allant de 50 à 150 kW, ce qui signifie une augmentation de l’autonomie de 250 à 750 km par heure de recharge.

D’une manière générale, le temps de recharge des voitures électriques dépend de quatre facteurs:

·         L’état de charge de la batterie

·         La puissance de charge de la station de recharge

·         La technologie de recharge de la voiture

·         La capacité de la batterie

Le temps de recharge peut être globalement calculé au moyen de la formule suivante:

Temps de recharge = capacité de la batterie en kWh / puissance de recharge (kW)

Ionity

Wallbox

Pour la recharge à domicile, l’infrastructure idéale est incontestablement la Wallbox. Elle a été spécialement conçue pour la recharge des voitures électriques. Elle recharge les batteries des voitures électriques avec rapidité et efficacité et présente une puissance largement supérieure à celle d’une prise électrique domestique (type 13). De plus, le temps de recharge est sensiblement plus court lorsque la recharge est réalisée à une station de recharge murale. De plus, il est possible de programmer l’heure de la recharge au moyen d’un minuteur afin de bénéficier du tarif de nuit plus avantageux pour le courant. Les propriétaires d’une maison peuvent également installer des collecteurs solaires sur le toit afin de produire eux-mêmes une partie de leur électricité.

Calcul de l’infrastructure de recharge

Une Wallbox peut être achetée ou louée. Les frais, y compris l’installation réalisée par un professionnel, dépendent de divers facteurs. Plus le système est puissant, plus le prix d’acquisition est élevé. Si un grand nombre de mètres de câblage doivent de plus être posés, le prix augmente encore.

On peut calculer ici ce qu’une infrastructure de recharge avec une Wallbox coûte:

www.em.offerten-rechner.ch

Elli

Gestion de la charge

Une gestion de la charge s’avère judicieuse lorsque plusieurs voitures électriques doivent être rechargées simultanément dans le garage souterrain d’un immeuble collectif, d’un immeuble de bureaux ou d’un centre commercial. Il faut une gestion de la charge dynamique qui fait en sorte que les voitures électriques soient rechargées, non pas simultanément, mais de manière échelonnée. On évite ainsi de saturer le réseau d’électricité. En outre, la gestion de la charge tient compte de la quantité de courant dont a besoin le bâtiment pour d’autres fins. Un système de décompte spécial permet d’affecter individuellement chaque recharge au préleveur d’électricité et de la facturer en conséquence.

Ionity

Recharge par induction

On entend par recharge par induction la transmission d’énergie sans fil. Ce type de recharge est parfois utilisé pour les téléphones mobiles ou les brosses à dents électriques. Le smartphone peut être rechargé de cette manière dans bon nombre de véhicules. La batterie d’une voiture électrique peut également être rechargée par induction. Dans le principe, le champ de recharge fonctionne comme une cuisinière à induction, à savoir par le biais de champs électromagnétiques. Pour ce faire, une bobine stationnaire intégrée dans le sol établit un champ magnétique avec une autre bobine qui est installée sous le véhicule: le courant alimente ainsi la batterie de la voiture électrique. Les champs de recharge par induction peuvent être installés à domicile, dans les parkings couverts et découverts, et devant les feux rouges sur les routes.

Ce système semble simple comme bonjour et fonctionne d’ailleurs. Pourtant, il n’est pas encore très répandu. Car comme les plaques de recharge doivent être insérées dans le sol, cela coûte très cher de mettre en place cette infrastructure de recharge. De plus, des normes harmonisées sont nécessaires. Et enfin la recharge par induction prend plus de temps et occasionne de la déperdition d’énergie.

Un mode d’application pertinent existe par exemple déjà à Braunschweig, en Allemagne: les bus de ligne électriques sont pleinement rechargés avec une recharge rapide de 200 kW au terminus, lorsque la conductrice ou le conducteur effectue sa pause. À Cologne et Oslo, il existe des e-taxis qui fonctionnent selon le même principe.

Ionity

Robot chargeur mobile

Volkswagen Group Components a conçu un prototype de robot chargeur mobile. C’est l’un des concepts visionnaires qui devrait étendre avec succès l’infrastructure de recharge dans les années à venir. La mission du robot: recharger des véhicules en totale autonomie dans des espaces de stationnement limités tels que les garages souterrains. «Une infrastructure de recharge disponible partout est et reste un facteur de réussite crucial pour la mobilité électrique. Notre robot chargeur n’est que l’une de plusieurs approches mais il est certainement l’une des plus visionnaires», déclare Thomas Schmall, directeur général de Volkswagen Group Components.

Le robot chargeur est démarré au moyen d’une application ou d’une communication car‐to‐X et fonctionne en toute autonomie. Il approche le véhicule à recharger de manière autonome et communique avec lui. Le robot se charge d’ouvrir le clapet de recharge, de brancher la prise et de la désaccoupler. Toute l’opération est réalisée sans intervention humaine. Pour pouvoir recharger plusieurs véhicules simultanément, le robot mobile apporte une remorque faisant office d’accumulateur d’énergie mobile jusqu’au véhicule, la branche et recharge ainsi la batterie du véhicule électrique. L’accumulateur d’énergie reste près du véhicule pendant la procédure de recharge. Pendant ce temps, le robot s’emploie à recharger d’autres véhicules. Une fois le service terminé, il récupère seul l’accumulateur d’énergie mobile et le rapporte à la station de recharge centrale.

Voilà comment fonctionne le robot chargeur mobile: www.youtube.com

 

Ionity

Voitures garées dans la rue

La solution idéale est de pouvoir recharger une voiture électrique à domicile ou sur son lieu de travail. Mais les personnes qui n’ont pas ces possibilités doivent planifier correctement leurs opérations de recharge. Cela vaut en particulier pour ceux qui vivent dans un bâtiment sans garage et qui garent leur voiture au bord de la route. Pour ces voitures garées dans la rue, la situation actuelle en matière de recharge n’est pas encore très avantageuse. Toutefois, on progresse également dans ce domaine car il sera à l’avenir davantage possible de recharger sa voiture électrique dans la rue, devant sa propre porte. Sur la plateforme Réseau de recharge Suisse, qui est portée par SuisseEnergie et l’association E-Mobility, les communes et les villes trouvent des prestations d’assistance leur permettant d’améliorer l’infrastructure de recharge au niveau communal. Une brochure comprenant des mesures et des conseils à ce sujet est également disponible. À titre d’exemple, on mentionnera l’intégration des stations de recharge pour véhicules électriques dans les réverbères de l’éclairage des rues. Des projets pilotes dans lesquels des lampadaires ont été transformés en stations de recharge dans les zones bleues de Berne et de Schlieren (ZH), sont en cours. Un projet pilote avec une infrastructure de recharge dans la zone bleue est également en cours à Bâle. 

Ionity

Plus de sujets