Electricity

Electricity is invisible and comes out of the socket. However, the energy we need for all kinds of electrical appliances and for charging electric vehicles does not come from nowhere.

Electricity

Electricity

In order for electricity to be used, it must first be generated by producing electrical energy with the aid of power plants. Electrical energy can be generated from light, heat, movement or chemical energy stored in coal or oil, for example. Different types of power plants are needed to generate energy: coal-fired power plants, nuclear power plants, hydroelectric power plants, gas turbine power plants, geothermal power plants, wind power plants and solar power plants. The electric energy generated in this way is transported via the closed power grid to end consumers and their power sockets.

Not all electricity is created equal, however. There are significant differences in the cleanliness of production – a coal-fired power plant emits CO2, which is bad for the climate, while nuclear power plants produce radioactive waste, which is problematic when it comes to disposal. The power of the sun and the wind should be harnessed increasingly and converted into energy in the future. The use of these renewable energies places less of a burden on the environment in terms of waste.

The source of the electricity used is particularly relevant when it comes to charging the battery of an electric vehicle. The cleaner the electricity, the more environmentally friendly the vehicle. The following example shows how extensive the differences can be: The generation of one kilowatt hour of electricity in a coal-fired power plant results in the emission of more than one kilogramme of CO2. If this kilowatt hour of electricity comes from a hydroelectric power plant, however, fewer than 50 grams of CO2 are emitted. This includes the CO2 released during construction and maintenance of the infrastructure.

Strom

The electricity mix in Switzerland

Switzerland is in a privileged situation when it comes to renewable energies thanks to hydropower. According to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy, in 2019, 75% (2018: 74%) of the electricity produced in Switzerland came from renewable sources: 66% from large-scale hydropower and around 8.4% from photovoltaics, wind, small-scale hydropower and biomass. 19% of the electricity came from nuclear energy, and just under 2% from waste and fossil fuels. For 4% of the electricity supplied, the origin and the composition are not verifiable (2018: 6%), which however is no longer permissible since 2020.

The electricity produced is not the same as the electricity supplied, as Switzerland exports and imports electricity, resulting in a slight shift in the composition of the electricity mix: 56.4% came from hydropower, 35.2% from nuclear energy, 2.6% from fossil fuels, and just below 6% from renewable energies. In the interests of transparency, electricity suppliers in Switzerland have been obliged since 2005 to disclose the origin and composition of the electricity they supply. According to the Swiss Federal Office of Energy website, declarations are always made retroactively, based on the data of the previous calendar year. Suppliers have been required to disclose these figures to all customers with their electricity bills since 2006, and since 2013, the data have also been published on the Internet platform www.stromkennzeichnung.ch.

A glimpse at Switzerland’s largest city reveals that the electricity supplied to electric vehicles at a fast-charging station operated by the Municipal Electric Utility Zurich (EWZ) is 100 per cent certified natural electricity from Switzerland. This is produced exclusively in Swiss hydropower, solar and wind plants, and helps to facilitate sustainable electric mobility.

Ionity

Costs

Electricity is measured and paid for in kilowatt hours (kWh). In Switzerland, a kilowatt hour of electricity costs between CHF 0.10 and CHF 0.40, depending on the region and the chosen rate and electricity mix (night-time rate, green electricity).

This breakdown shows how much it costs on average to fully charge the empty battery of an electric car. It is particularly relevant whether the electricity is taken from a normal socket or from a fast-charging station:

Charging option               Charging capacity            Time to full charge          Cost per charge

Socket                                  3.7 kW                                 13:30 h                                CHF 10.50

Wall box                              11 kW                                   4:30 h                                   CHF 10.50

Charging station*            50 kW                                   1 h                                         CHF 37.50

* Provider: MOVE fast charging, CHF 2.00 activation fee + CHF 0.10/min. + CHF 0.59/kWh

Strom

More topics

Strom

Strom ist unsichtbar und kommt aus der Steckdose. Die Energie für allerlei Elektrogeräte und zum Aufladen eines E-Autos kommt aber nicht einfach aus dem Nichts.

Strom

Strom

Damit Strom verwendet werden kann, muss er zuvor durch die Gewinnung elektrischer Energie mit Hilfe von Kraftwerken erzeugt werden. Dabei kann elektrische Energie aus Licht, Wärme, Bewegung oder chemischer Energie erzeugt werden, die etwa in Kohle oder Öl gespeichert ist. Für die Energiegewinnung sind verschiedene Arten von Kraftwerken nötig: Kohlekraftwerke, Atomkraftwerke, Wasserkraftwerke, Gasturbinenkraftwerke, Erdwärmekraftwerke, Windkraftwerke und Solaranlagen. Die so gewonnene elektrische Energie wird über das geschlossene Stromnetz zu den Endverbrauchern und den Steckdosen transportiert.

Strom ist aber nicht gleich Strom. Bei der Sauberkeit der Herstellung gibt es grosse Unterschiede: Ein Kohlekraftwerk stösst Kohlendioxid aus, was schlecht für das Klima ist. In Atomkraftwerken entsteht radioaktiver Abfall, dessen Entsorgung ein grosses Problem ist. Deshalb soll in Zukunft die Kraft der Sonne und des Windes vermehrt genutzt und in Energie umgewandelt werden. Durch die Nutzung sogenannter erneuerbarer Energien entstehen weniger Abfälle, welche die Umwelt belasten.

Für das Aufladen der Batterie eines Elektroautos spielt es darum eine grosse Rolle, wie der verwendete Strom produziert wurde. Je sauberer der Strom, desto umweltfreundlicher fährt das Elektroauto. Die Unterschiede sind sehr gross, wie folgendes Beispiel zeigt: Bei der Erzeugung von einer Kilowattstunde Strom, die in einem Kohlekraftwerk erzeugt wird, wird mehr als ein Kilogramm CO2 emittiert. Stammt die Kilowattstunde Strom aber aus einem Wasserkraftwerk, sind es weniger als 50 Gramm CO2. Dabei ist das CO2, das während der Konstruktion und beim Unterhalt der Infrastruktur freigesetzt wird, jeweils miteinberechnet.

Strom

Strommix in der Schweiz

Die Schweiz ist dank der Wasserkraft bezüglich erneuerbarer Energien in einer privilegierten Situation. 2019 stammte gemäss den Angaben des Bundesamts für Energie der in der Schweiz produzierte Strom zu rund 75% (2018: 74%) aus erneuerbaren Energien: Zu 66% aus Grosswasserkraft und zu rund 8,4% aus Photovoltaik, Wind, Kleinwasserkraft und Biomasse. 19% des Stroms stammten aus Kernenergie und knapp 2% aus Abfällen und fossilen Energieträgern. Für 4% des gelieferten Stroms sind die Herkunft und die Zusammensetzung nicht überprüfbar (2018: 6%), was jedoch seit 2020 nicht mehr zulässig ist.

Der produzierte Strom unterscheidet sich vom gelieferten Strom. Denn die Schweiz exportiert und importiert Strom, was dazu führt, dass sich der Liefermix leicht anders zusammensetzt: 56,4% stammten aus Wasserkraft, 35,2% aus Kernkraft, 2,6% aus fossilen und knapp 6% aus neuen erneuerbaren Energien. Im Sinne der Transparenz sind die Stromversorger in der Schweiz seit 2005 verpflichtet, die Herkunft und die Zusammensetzung des gelieferten Stroms offenzulegen. Auf der Website des Bundesamts für Energie heisst es: Die Deklaration erfolgt jeweils rückwirkend, basierend auf den Daten des vorangegangenen Kalenderjahres. Seit 2006 müssen diese Zahlen allen Kundinnen und Kunden mit den Stromrechnungen bekanntgegeben werden. Seit 2013 werden die Daten zusätzlich auf der Internet-Plattform www.stromkennzeichnung.ch veröffentlicht.

Ein Blick in die grösste Schweizer Stadt zeigt: An einer Schnellladestation des Elektrizitätswerks Zürich (EWZ) beziehen Elektroautos zu 100 Prozent zertifizierten Naturstrom aus der Schweiz. Dieser wird ausschliesslich in Schweizer Wasser-, Solar- und Windanlagen produziert und sorgt für eine nachhaltige Elektromobilität.

Ionity

Kosten

Strom wird in der Einheit Kilowattstunden (kWh) gemessen und bezahlt. In der Schweiz kostet eine Kilowattstunde Strom je nach Region sowie je nach gewähltem Tarif und Strommix (Nachttarif, Ökostrom) zwischen 10 und 40 Rappen.

Diese Aufstellung zeigt, wie viel es durchschnittlich kostet, die leere Batterie eines Elektroautos vollzuladen. Dabei macht es einen grossen Unterschied, ob der Strom an einer normalen Steckdose oder an einer Schnellladestation bezogen wird:

Aufladung          Ladeleistung      Dauer bis volle Aufladung           Kosten pro Ladung

Steckdose          3,7 kW                  13:30 h                                                CHF 10.50

Wallbox               11 kW                   4:30 h                                                  CHF 10.50

Ladestation*     50 kW                   1 h                                                         CHF 37.50

*) Anbieter: MOVE Schnellladen, CHF 2.00 Aktivierungsgebühr + 0.10 CHF/Min + 0.59 CHF/kWh

Strom

Weitere Themen