Batteries

Put simply, a battery consists of four main components: cathode (negative pole), anode (positive pole), separator and electrolytes. The liquid electrolytes between the two poles ensure that the ions move back and forth between the anode and the cathode – depending on whether the battery is being charged or discharged. Electric vehicle batteries, also referred to as traction batteries, are composed of several interconnected individual batteries that in turn consist of battery cells or cell blocks connected in parallel and in series. The traction batteries of most electric vehicles supply a voltage of 400 volts, while the Porsche Taycan has an 800-volt system.
Batteries

Battery types

Batteries for electric vehicles must be as light and small as possible, but at the same time powerful and durable. Modern electric vehicles therefore mainly use lithium-ion batteries and rarely lithium-polymer ones, and electrolyte liquid is used for lithium-ion batteries and polymer gel for lithium-polymer ones. In relation to other batteries, they have the highest energy density, and can store the most energy per kilogram of net weight. They also have a low self-discharge rate if a vehicle is not driven for an extended period, for example.

The nickel-cadmium battery is considered the predecessor of the lithium-ion battery. While the former is robust, deals better with temperature fluctuations and charges faster, it is no longer used in vehicles because of its poor environmental performance. Cadmium is a heavy metal and is toxic to the environment. On top of this, nickel-cadmium batteries should only be charged when completely empty, which is an unsuitable characteristic for electric vehicles. In addition, the self-discharge rate of nickel-cadmium batteries is relatively high.

As in any car with a combustion engine, an electric vehicle still has a small 12-volt battery installed, helping to start the electric motor and providing power for the central locking, interior lights, instruments and power steering. In many electric vehicles, manufacturers use exactly the same lead batteries as in models with combustion engines. However, lighter lithium-iron-phosphate batteries are increasingly being used instead of lead batteries in higher-class electric vehicles.

Batterien

Pros and cons of the lithium-ion battery

The pros and cons of the lithium-ion battery at a glance:

Pros
+ high energy density
+ long service life
+ low weight

Cons
– high production costs
– complex battery management
– flammable
– cooling required
– questionable raw material production

Ionity

Manufacture

Mobility will always have a certain impact on the environment. The goal, however, is to reduce the burden on people and the environment and keep it as low as possible. Vehicle production requires energy and raw materials. When it comes to electric vehicles, the focus is above all on the production of batteries, which require cobalt and lithium in addition to nickel and manganese. Around two thirds of the world’s cobalt – a lustrous, silver-grey metal that is hard and strong – is mined in the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), partly under inhumane conditions and by children. Around 95 000 tonnes of cobalt came from the DRC in 2020. The second largest producer by a wide margin was Russia with 6300 tonnes, ahead of Australia with 5700.

Sustainable mining in the developing country of the DRC is a long-term challenge. Throughout the value chain, the Volkswagen Group participates in sustainability initiatives such as the Responsible Minerals Initiative (RMI) and the World Economic Forum’s Global Battery Alliance. On top of this come internal targets and checks along the supply chain, which are simplified by increased transparency thanks to the direct sourcing of materials.

The RMI is in the process of developing a certification system for cobalt smelting to improve mining conditions and ensure traceability. With this aim in mind, the Drive Sustainability working group is working on standardised monitoring instruments and sustainability training for suppliers.

Achieving a significant reduction in the cobalt content of the lithium-ion battery is also extremely important, with the target being a drop in the share of raw material in the cathode’s weight from 12 or 14 per cent to 5 per cent by 2023/2025. Volkswagen is also working on the development of battery cells that do not need any cobalt at all.

Maximilian Fichtner, professor and expert in battery technology at the University of Ulm and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, believes that a complete phaseout of cobalt is both feasible and necessary: “Not only because of the human rights issue, but also because of the limited reserves.” A good alternative is already available, he says: lithium iron phosphate. “This material is cost-effective, sustainable and non-toxic,” he continues. Galaxite, also known as mangan-spinel, could also be an option.

Lithium is extracted primarily from salt lakes in South America – Chile, Argentina and Bolivia in particular – by means of evaporation. This process is not without its drawbacks: groundwater is needed for lithium production, which may result in drying out the surrounding landscape. This is an issue that affects many indigenous peoples. For many experts, however, it is unclear whether and to what extent the drought is actually related to lithium mining. What is clear is that drinking water is not needed for lithium extraction. For Maximilian Fichtner, no convincing replacement for lithium has emerged as yet. “However, I also see this situation as much less critical, because global lithium reserves will last considerably longer than those of cobalt,” he explains. There are alternatives to lithium extraction from salt lakes – ore mining, for example – and all of Volkswagen’s lithium suppliers are contractually obliged to observe high environmental and social standards.

Batterien

Solid-state battery

Solid-state batteries are said to have around twice the range and to be much safer than current lithium-ion batteries, which is why they are seen as the future of electric mobility. These are lithium-ion batteries but without the liquid electrolytes, meaning that they do not leak and are highly unlikely to catch fire. This avoids the need for costly fire protection and temperature management, making solid-state batteries lighter and less expensive as a result. Another advantage is that they can be charged much faster than current lithium-ion batteries – in about half the time.

Volkswagen plans to build its own solid-state battery factory in Salzgitter, Germany, with its US partner Quantumscape.

The pros and cons of the solid-state battery:

+ safe

+ range

+ no liquid, not flammable

+ no discharging

– weak current

– lithium is used here too, so the negative environmental aspect continues to apply

Ionity

Environmental performance

On behalf of the German think tank “Agora Verkehrswende”, the Institute for Energy and Environmental Research (ifeu) in Heidelberg conducted a study entitled “Klimabilanz von strombasierten Antrieben und Kraftstoffen” (“The carbon footprint of electricity-based drives and fuels”, available in German only) in 2019. The study involved comparing batteries, fuel cells and e-fuels, and the key findings are as follows:

•    In order for the carbon footprints of electricity-based drives and fuels to provide comparable and reliable results, it must be ensured that the same assumptions are made regarding energy supply.

•    In the carbon footprint of a fuel cell vehicle powered by electrolytically produced hydrogen from the German electricity mix, the greenhouse gas emissions are 75 per cent higher than those of a battery electric vehicle with 35 kWh battery capacity. When compared with a battery electric vehicle with 60 kWh in pure motorway driving, the emissions are 56 per cent higher.

•    Carbon footprint: For a vehicle with a combustion engine that runs on electricity-based liquid fuels from the German electricity mix, the greenhouse gas emissions are around three times higher than for a battery electric vehicle with 35 kWh.

•    If hydrogen or electricity-based fuels in transport are to help protect the climate, it must be ensured that only wind or solar power from surplus capacity is used in their production.

Batterien

Repair

The Volkswagen Group offers a warranty of eight years or 160 000 kilometres on the high-voltage battery of an electric vehicle. Most batteries will even outlast the vehicle itself by several years. Should a fault nevertheless occur, the affected components can be diagnosed and replaced individually, thereby avoiding the need to replace the entire battery pack. Work on high-voltage batteries is carried out at special support centres by a high-voltage expert (HVE) in special protective equipment.

Ionity

Second life/reuse

Extending the life of a battery plays a central role when it comes to the environmental friendliness of e-mobility. The primary goal must be for batteries to be repaired or reconditioned, or passed on to second-life projects for complete reuse. There is a large number of second-life large-scale storage projects within the Volkswagen Group, for example, where used vehicle batteries are combined and used as one huge battery – both in Volkswagen plants and in cooperation projects with utility companies and towns and cities. The service life of a battery can be extended significantly by such further use.

In addition to reuse, i.e. further use outside the vehicle, remanufacturing is another option: the used batteries are reconditioned for use in electric vehicles by replacing individual components. Alternatively, a battery that has been divided into its individual modules can also be reused in stationary storage systems.

Batterien

Recycling

What happens to the batteries when they reach the end of their lives? The Volkswagen Group’s Research and Development department has found a recycling solution, and has worked with Volkswagen Group Components to prepare it for series production. The solution is an innovative and sustainable process for recycling batteries, and is being used for the first time in a pilot facility at the Salzgitter site in Germany. The goal is to recycle more than 90 per cent of the battery and return materials such as cobalt, nickel, manganese and lithium to the cycle. In Switzerland, a national solution may be possible.

Only batteries that can really no longer be used in any other way are recycled. Before this, they are first checked to see whether they are still fit to be given a second life in mobile energy storage systems such as flexible fast charging points and charging robots. This enables their useful life to be significantly extended.  

Battery Recycling Volkswagen

Ionity

Life cycle assessment: help with decision-making when buying a car

The Paul Scherrer Institute has developed the “Carculator” web tool that makes it possible to compare the life cycle assessment of various cars. The programme determines the life cycle assessments of vehicles with different types of drive, and presents them in the form of comparative graphics. The entire life cycle of passenger cars is taken into account, including the production of the vehicles and the environmentally relevant emissions produced while driving. Any measures and carbon offsets carried out by manufacturers during production – such as Volkswagen Group’s efforts to deliver the ID.3 to customers in a carbon-neutral manner – are not taken into account, however.

Carculator

Batterien

More topics

Batterien

Eine Batterie besteht, vereinfacht gesagt, aus vier Hauptkomponenten: Kathode (Minuspol), Anode (Pluspol), Separator und Elektrolyte. Zwischen den beiden Polen befinden sich flüssige Elektrolyte. Sie sorgen dafür, dass sich die Ionen zwischen der Anode und der Kathode hin- und herbewegen – je nachdem, ob die Batterie gerade geladen oder entladen wird. Antriebsbatterien, wie sie für Elektroautos verwendet werden, werden auch als Hochvoltspeicher, Traktionsbatterie oder Zyklenbatterie bezeichnet. Sie sind aus mehreren miteinander verbundenen Einzelbatterien zusammengesetzt, die wiederum aus parallel und seriell zusammengeschalteten Akku-Zellen oder Zellenblöcken bestehen. Die Traktionsbatterie der meisten Elektroautos liefert eine Spannung von 400 Volt. Beim Porsche Taycan sind es sogar 800 Volt.

Batterien

Batterietypen

Die Batterien für Elektroautos müssen einerseits möglichst leicht und klein, andererseits jedoch auch leistungsstark und langlebig sein. In den modernen Elektroautos kommen deshalb hauptsächlich Lithium-Ionen- und selten Lithium-Polymer-Batterien zum Einsatz. Bei den Lithium-Ionen-Akkus wird Elektrolytflüssigkeit verwendet, bei den Lithium-Polymer-Batterien Gel aus Polymer-Kunststoff. Im Unterschied zu anderen Akkus weisen sie die höchste Energiedichte auf. Pro Kilogramm Eigengewicht können diese Batterien die meiste Energie speichern. Zudem haben sie eine geringe Selbstentladung, wenn zum Beispiel ein Elektroauto über längere Zeit nicht gefahren wird.

Als Vorgänger der Lithium-Ionen-Batterie gilt der Nickel-Cadmium-Akku. Dieser ist zwar robust, verkraftet Temperaturschwankungen besser und lädt schneller. Doch weil er eine schlechte Umweltbilanz hat, wird er bei Autos nicht mehr eingesetzt. Bei Cadmium handelt es sich um ein Schwermetall, das ein Umweltgift ist. Ausserdem sollten Nickel-Cadmium-Akkus erst aufgeladen werden, wenn sie ganz leer sind, was für E-Autos nicht ideal ist. Zusätzlich ist die Selbstentladungsrate von Nickel-Cadmium-Akkus relativ hoch.

Wie in jedem Auto mit Verbrennungsmotor ist in einem Elektroauto noch eine kleine 12-Volt-Batterie verbaut. Sie hilft beim Starten des Elektromotors und liefert den Strom für die Zentralverriegelung, das Innenlicht, die Instrumente und die Servolenkung. In vielen E-Autos verwenden die Hersteller die exakt baugleichen Bleibatterien wie in den Modellen mit Verbrennungsmotoren. In höherklassigen Elektroautos findet man zunehmend die leichteren Lithium-Eisen-Phosphat-Batterien anstelle der Bleiakkus.

Batterien

Vorteile und Nachteile der Lithium-Ionen-Batterie

Die Vor- und Nachteile der Lithium-Ionen-Technologie auf einen Blick:

Vorteile
+ hohe Energiedichte
+ hohe Lebensdauer
+ geringes Gewicht

Nachteile
- hohe Produktionskosten
- aufwendiges Batteriemanagement
- entzündlich
- Kühlung erforderlich
- fragwürdige Rohstoffgewinnung

Ionity

Herstellung

Mobilität wird immer Auswirkungen auf die Umwelt haben. Doch es geht darum, die Belastungen für Mensch und Umwelt zu reduzieren und möglichst gering zu halten Für die Produktion von Autos braucht es Energie und Rohstoffe. Bei den Elektroautos steht dabei vor allem die Produktion der Akkus im Fokus, für die es neben Nickel und Mangan auch Kobalt und Lithium braucht. Kobalt, ein glänzendes, silbergraues Metall, das sich durch Härte, Festigkeit und Zähigkeit auszeichnet, wird etwa zu zwei Dritteln in der Demokratischen Republik Kongo abgebaut – zum Teil unter menschenunwürdigen Bedingungen und durch Kinder. 2020 kamen 95’000 Tonnen Kobalt aus der DR Kongo. Der zweitgrösste Produzent war mit grossem Abstand Russland mit 6300 Tonnen, vor Australien mit 5700 Tonnen.

Ein nachhaltiger Abbau im Entwicklungsland Demokratische Republik Kongo ist eine langfristige Herausforderung. Entlang der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette beteiligt sich der Volkswagen-Konzern an Nachhaltigkeitsinitiativen wie der Responsible Minerals Initiative (RMI) oder der Global Battery Alliance des Weltwirtschaftsforums. Hinzu kommen interne Vorgaben und Überprüfungen entlang der Lieferkette, die durch die erhöhte Transparenz – aufgrund des direkten Bezugs von Material – vereinfacht werden.

Die RMI ist daran, ein Zertifizierungssystem für Kobaltschmelzen zu entwickeln, um die Abbaubedingungen zu verbessern und die Herkunft des Materials nachvollziehbar zu machen. Die Arbeitsgruppe Drive Sustainability entwickelt dafür einheitliche Monitoring-Instrumente und Nachhaltigkeitstrainings für Lieferanten.

Von grösster Wichtigkeit ist auch die substanzielle Reduktion des Kobaltanteils in der Lithium-Ionen-Batterie. Vom heutigen Gewichtsanteil von 12 bis 14 Prozent in der Kathode soll der Anteil des Rohstoffs bis 2023/2025 auf 5 Prozent sinken. Volkswagen arbeitet ausserdem an der Entwicklung von Batteriezellen, die ganz ohne Kobalt auskommen.

Maximilian Fichtner, Professor und Experte für Batterietechnologie an der Universität Ulm und am Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, hält einen kompletten Ausstieg beim Kobalt für möglich und für geboten: «Nicht nur wegen der Menschenrechts-Problematik, sondern auch wegen der begrenzten Reserven.» Eine gute Alternative sei bereits vorhanden: Lithium-Eisenphosphat. «Dieses Material ist kostengünstig, nachhaltig verfügbar und ungiftig», sagt er. Auch der sogenannte Manganspinell könnte eine Option sein.

Lithium wird grösstenteils aus den Salzseen in Südamerika – vor allem in Chile, Argentinien und Bolivien – durch Verdunstung gewonnen. Die Produktion hat problematische Aspekte: Dafür wird Grundwasser gebraucht, was möglicherweise das Austrocknen der umliegenden Landschaft fördert. Diese Problematik betrifft viele indigene Völker. Aus der Sicht etlicher Experten ist es hingegen unklar, ob und wie stark die Trockenheit tatsächlich mit dem Lithium-Abbau zu tun hat.

Klar ist aber: Für die Gewinnung von Lithium wird kein Trinkwasser benötigt. Für Maximilian Fichtner zeichnet sich für das Lithium bis jetzt kein überzeugender Ersatz ab. «Allerdings sehe ich die Lage hier auch deutlich unkritischer, denn die weltweiten Vorräte an Lithium reichen erheblich länger als diejenigen an Kobalt», erklärt er. Zur Lithium-Gewinnung aus Salzseen gibt es durchaus Alternativen, zum Beispiel den Erzbergbau. Zudem sind alle Lithium-Zulieferer von Volkswagen vertraglich verpflichtet, sich an hohe Umwelt- und Sozialstandards zu halten.

Batterien

Feststoffbatterie

Die Feststoffbatterien gelten als die Zukunft der Elektromobilität, denn sie sollen eine rund doppelt so grosse Reichweite haben und viel sicherer sein als die gegenwärtigen Lithium-Ionen-Batterien. Diese Super-Akkus sind zwar auch Lithium-Ionen-Batterien, kommen aber ohne flüssige Elektrolyte aus. Dadurch laufen sie nicht aus und können kaum Feuer fangen. Deshalb entfallen die finanziellen Aufwendungen für ihren Schutz und für das Temperaturmanagement. Dadurch sind Feststoffbatterien leichter und kostengünstiger. Ein weiterer Pluspunkt: Sie lassen sich viel schneller aufladen als die gegenwärtigen Lithium-Ionen-Batterien – in rund der Hälfte der Zeit.
Volkswagen plant mit dem US-amerikanischen Partner Quantumscape, in Salzgitter eine eigene Fabrik für Feststoffbatterien zu bauen.

Vor- und Nachteile der Feststoffbatterie:
+ sicher
+ Reichweite
+ keine Flüssigkeit, nicht entflammbar
+ keine Entladung
- geringe Stromstärke
- auch hier wird noch Lithium genutzt, der negative Umweltaspekt bleibt bestehen

Ionity

Umweltbilanz

Im Auftrag des deutschen Think Tanks «Agora Verkehrswende» führte das Institut für Energie- und Umweltforschung in Heidelberg 2019 die Studie «Klimabilanz von strombasierten Antrieben und Kraftstoffen» durch. Darin wurden Batterien, Brennstoffzellen und E-Fuels miteinander verglichen. Die wichtigsten Erkenntnisse daraus lauten:

•    Damit Klimabilanzen von strombasierten Antrieben und Treibstoffen vergleich- und belastbare Ergebnisse liefern, muss sichergestellt werden, dass gleiche Annahmen zur Energiebereitstellung getroffen werden.

•    In der Klimabilanz eines Brennstoffzellenfahrzeugs, das mit elektrolytisch hergestelltem Wasserstoff aus deutschem Strommix betrieben wird, liegen die Treibhausgasemissionen 75 Prozent über denen eines Batteriefahrzeugs mit 35 kWh Batteriekapazität. Beim Vergleich mit einem Batteriefahrzeug mit 60 kWh im reinen Autobahnbetrieb liegen die Emissionen um 56 Prozent darüber.

•    Klimabilanz: Bei einem Fahrzeug mit Verbrennungsmotor, das mit strombasierten Flüssigkraftstoffen aus deutschem Strommix betrieben wird, sind die Treibhausgasemissionen rund dreimal so hoch wie bei einem Batteriefahrzeug mit 35 kWh.

•    Sollen Wasserstoff oder strombasierte Kraftstoffe im Verkehr einen Klimaschutzbeitrag leisten, so muss sichergestellt werden, dass bei ihrer Produktion ausschliesslich Wind- oder Solarstrom aus zusätzlichen Kapazitäten verwendet wird.

Batterien

Reparatur

Der Volkswagen-Konzern gibt auf die Hochvoltbatterie eines Elektrofahrzeugs eine Garantie von acht Jahren beziehungsweise von 160’000 Kilometern. Die meisten Batterien werden ein Autoleben sogar um Jahre überdauern. Sollte dennoch ein Defekt auftreten, können die betroffenen Komponenten diagnostiziert und einzeln ausgetauscht werden. Der Tausch eines kompletten Batteriepakets ist also nicht nötig. Arbeiten an Hochvoltbatterien werden an speziell ausgebildeten Stützpunkten von einem Hochvoltexperten (HVE) in spezieller Schutzausrüstung durchgeführt.

Ionity

Second Life / Re-Use

Die Verlängerung der Lebensdauer einer Batterie spielt eine zentrale Rolle bezüglich der Umweltfreundlichkeit der E-Mobilität. Die Batterien sollen in erster Linie repariert bzw. aufbereitet oder zur vollständigen Weiterverwendung in Second-Life-Projekte überführt werden. So gibt es innerhalb des Volkswagen-Konzerns eine Vielzahl von Second-Life-Grossspeicherprojekten. Dort kommen gebrauchte Fahrzeugakkus im Verbund als riesige Batterie zum Einsatz – sowohl in den Volkswagen-Werken als auch in Kooperationsprojekten mit Versorgungsgesellschaften und Städten.

Die Lebensdauer einer Batterie kann durch derartige weitere Einsätze deutlich verlängert werden.
https://www.volkswagen.de/de/elektrofahrzeuge/elektromobilitaet-erleben/elektroauto-technologie/zweites-leben-fuer-gebrauchte-akkus.html

Neben Re-Use, der Weiterverwendung ausserhalb des Fahrzeugs, gibt es noch die Refabrikation: Die gebrauchten Batterien werden durch den Austausch einzelner Bauteile wieder für einen Einsatz im Elektrofahrzeug aufbereitet. Alternativ bietet sich auch hier nach einer Teilzerlegung der Batterie in ihre Module eine Weiterverwendung in stationären Speichern an.  

Batterien

Recycling

Was passiert mit den Batterien, wenn sie das Ende ihres Lebens erreichen? Die Abteilung «Forschung und Entwicklung» des Volkswagen-Konzerns hat eine Recycling-Lösung gefunden und sie gemeinsam mit Volkswagen Group Components serienreif gemacht. Es ist ein innovatives und nachhaltiges Verfahren, mit dem Batterien recycelt werden. Das Verfahren wird am deutschen Standort Salzgitter in einer Pilotanlage erstmals eingesetzt. Ziel ist es, über 90 Prozent der Batterie zu recyceln und Wertstoffe wie Kobalt, Nickel, Mangan oder Lithium in den Kreislauf zurückzuführen. In der Schweiz ist eine nationale Lösung denkbar.

Ins Recycling gelangen ausschliesslich Batterien, die wirklich nicht mehr anders nutzbar sind. Denn zuvor wird geprüft, ob die Akkus noch in einem genug guten Zustand sind, um möglicherweise ein zweites Leben in mobilen Energiespeichern wie flexiblen Schnellladesäulen oder Laderobotern zu erhalten. So lässt sich ihre Nutzungsdauer erheblich verlängern.

https://www.volkswagen-newsroom.com/de/pressemitteilungen/aus-alt-mach-neu-volkswagen-group-components-startet-batterie-recycling-6789

Ionity

Ökobilanz: Entscheidungshilfe beim Autokauf

Das Paul-Scherrer-Institut hat das Webtool «Carculator» entwickelt. Damit kann die Ökobilanz von Personenwagen verglichen werden. Das Programm ermittelt die Ökobilanz von Fahrzeugen mit unterschiedlichen Antriebsarten und stellt sie in Vergleichsgrafiken dar. Dabei wird der gesamte Lebenszyklus der Personenwagen berücksichtigt, darunter auch die Herstellung der Fahrzeuge und die umweltrelevanten Emissionen beim Fahren. Allfällige Massnahmen und CO2-Kompensationen der Hersteller bei der Produktion – wie beispielsweise die Bestrebungen der Volkswagen AG, den ID.3 CO2-neutral an den Kunden auszuliefern – werden jedoch nicht berücksichtigt.

Carculator

Batterien

Weitere Themen